Comprising: Registration: Registers of Baptisms 1940-1964, Registers of Marriages 1940-1971, Registers of Banns 1973-1986, Registers of Services 1931-1992; Incumbent 1956-1980s; churchwardens 1933-1981; PCC minutes 1931-1991 and accounts 1915-1988; parish history: Rev Dr J F Twisleton, 'Moorends and Its Church' 1985 and documents collected by the author to write his history, including illustrations showing the church 1911-1980s and Thorne and Moorends early 20th century to 1980s and a (?holograph) poem by Philip Hobsbaum on William Bunting of Thorne.
MOORENDS, ST WILFRITH'S PARISH RECORDS
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 197 P80
- Dates of Creation1915-1991
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description8 boxes 0.128 cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Thorne colliery, owned by Pease and Partners of Darlington, was sunk between 1912 and 1925 and a new community, Moorends, was developed to house the colliery workers. The company also helped to finance a mission church in Northgate for the colliery (see items P80/4/16 and 4/17). Section 10 contains documents collected by Reverend Dr J F Twisleton in the early 1980s for a parish history. A new church, dedicated to St Wilfrith was built in 1934-1935 and became a parish church in its own right in 1956 (see P80/1/G6, 2/C1-2).
The collection is divided into four series as follows:
P80/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship
P80/4: Parochial Church Council
P80/10: Parish History
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries