Logbooks: Point Lynas lighthouse, Llaneilian

Scope and Content

Logbooks: Point Lynas Lighthouse, Llaneilian, 1865 - 1969.

Kept by David and Mary Morgan, 1865 - 1869

M. Beynon, 1911 - 1912.

Jas J. Dodd, 1923 - 1924.

W. A. Slade, 1937 - 1938.

J. K. Stafford, 1939 - 1940.

J. E. Williams, 1959 - 1962.

W. E. Schofield, 1962 - 1969.

Administrative / Biographical History

Point Lynas lighthouse, Llaneilian, Anglesey, was built by Mersey Docks and Harbour Board in 1835 (a previous installation had been provided by Liverpool Pilotage Service). The lighthouse has operated ever since. In 1973, responsibility for running the lighthouse passed to Trinity Hous. The lighhouse is now fully automated.

Conditions Governing Access

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Adnau preifat / Private deposit.

Note

Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da /Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Seri Crawley and Martin Locock for the ANW project. The following sources were consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Minor List, Point Lynas Lighthouse logbooks; Trinity House website (www.trinityhouse.org.uk), viewed 30 January 2004.

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Accruals

Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Gweler hefyd / See also: WM2221.