National Union of Mineworkers (South Wales Area): Bargoed Winding Enginemens' Lodge

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minute Books, 1928-1966.

Financial Records, 1925-1973 including income and expenditure analysis book 1954-1973, account books 1925-1948, 1950 and 1951-1953, contributions books 1931-1973, summaries of accounts 1945-1947, balance sheet 1946, annual returns and balance sheets 1948-1967, petty cash book 1948-1950, general purposes receipt book 1946-1948 and return of contributions book 1954-1958.

Correspondence, 1943-1968 including letter books (carbon copies) 1946-1949 and correspondence files 1943-1968, rule book 1942 and contributions cards 1946.

Administrative / Biographical History

Bargoed Winding Enginemens' Lodge was a lodge of the National Union of Mineworkers.

The Bargoed Winding Enginemens' Lodge (also called the Bargoed branch of the Winding Enginemens' Lodge) became part of the NUM in 1948. It was called Bargoed Branch of the Winding Enginemens' Association before 1948and was also known as the South Wales and Monmouthshire Colliery Winding Enginemens' Association.

The South Wales Miners' Federation (SWMF) became the NUM (South Wales Area) on the 1.1.1945.

Conditions Governing Access

Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.

Geographical Names