Deeds and leases of properties (including minerals) in the Neath area, 1689-1889, legal papers 1623-1878, papers relating to industry in Briton Ferry and Neath 1801-1884, estate plans 1793-1923
Briton Ferry Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Briton Ferry Estate consisted of extensive and scattered lands, including the whole parish of Briton Ferry, the southern part of Llansamlet parish, parts of Aberavon, Baglan, Llantwit-juxta-Neath, Glyncorrwg, Swansea, Oystermouth, Llangyfelach, Cilybebyll, Penderyn, Coity and several single properties in other parishes. At its heart was Briton Ferry House (now demolished). In 1818 a large part of the estate was sold, leaving (broadly speaking) only those parts immediately adjoining Briton Ferry and Swansea. The area saw the growth of industry during the 19th century, including coal mines, smelting, canals and railways.
Arranged into the following sections: estate administration; manorial records; industrial papers.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley for the ANW project.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the Neath Mechanics' Institute.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.