• This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 197 NM9
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      3 boxes 0.048 cubic metres

Scope and Content

Cmprising: quarterly meeting minute books 1948-1968; deeds and trust records 1925-1943; secretary's records 1950-1957; circuit committees 1926-1968; circuit financial records 1956-1968; circuit schedules 1927-1968; circuit preaching plans 1951-1968; year books and directories

Administrative / Biographical History

This circuit was established in 1912 with the Rev Samuel Chadwick as Superintendent Minister, under the direction of the Home Missions Committee. There were four original places of worship at Thurnscoe, Denaby Main, Goldthorpe and Mill Lane in South Kirby. In 1951 the circuit changed its name to the Doncaster District Coalfields Mission and by 1956 it included churches at Armthorpe, Rossington, Askern, Edlington and Clayton. The Mission was finally absorbed into the reorganised circuits of the Doncaster area in 1968 with most of the churches going into the Doncaster West Circuit.

Access Information


Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries