Records of Caernarvonshire and Anglesey Infirmary, 1811-1972, comprising governors' minutes, 1878-1946; medical and staff committees minutes, 1931-1959; wages book, 1946-1948; annual reports, 1837-1957; papers relating to the development of the premises, 1922-1972; accounts and financial records, 1909-1950; correspondence, wills and accounts relating to bequests, 1927-1946; admission registers, 1903-1945; special treatment books, 1938-1964; papers relating to medical conditions, 1951-1958; miscellaneous administrative papers, [?1932]-1964; Medical Advisory Committee and Consultants' Association papers, 1949-1968; Past Nurses League journals, 1959-1964; copy conveyance, 1811; photograph of the Infirmary, 1907; and miscellaneous printed matter, 1948-1968.
Caernarvonshire and Anglesey Infirmary Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XY/1
- Dates of Creation1811-1969
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description153 items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Loyal Dispensary, Bangor, Caernarfonshire, was opened in 1810, primarily to provide vaccines for smallpox. In 1845, the institution moved premises to Upper Bangor, and was re-named the Caernarvonshire and Anglesey Infirmary (C. & A. Infirmary). It employed surgeons and a physician, but even in 1882 only had 11 beds. The Infirmary closed in 1984, when the new Ysbyty Gwynedd was opened.
Arranged into the following: governors' minute books; wages book; minute books, medical and staff matters; annual reports; papers re. development of premises; accounts and financial records; bequests; Medical Advisory Committee and Consultants' Association; admission registers; special treatment books; papers re. medical conditions; miscellaneous papers re. hospital administration; Past Nurses League journals; miscellaneous; copy conveyance of land; and photograph.
Conditions Governing Access
No item (other than printed material of a public nature) may be consulted unless it is at least thirty years old. Documents naming patients or listing individual treatments are closed to public inspection for a period of one hundred years.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Cofnodion Ysbyty Môn ac Arfon/Caernarvonshire and Anglesey Infirmary Records, catalogue; Dodd, A. H., A History of Caernarvonshire (Wrexham, 1990).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected