Plans and certificate relating to the Calvinistic Methodist Chapel in Penrhyn Avenue, Maesgeirchen, Bangor, 1949-1963.
Maesgeirchen Calvinistic Methodist Chapel Plans
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The council estate known as Maesgeirchen, situated on the outskirts of the town of Bangor, north Wales was built in the 1930's. Lord Penrhyn sold 70 acres of land belonging to Maes Geirchen Farm to the council for this purpose and by 1939, 304 houses had been built. The estate grew rapidly in size, and in 1968, 3,000 people lived there.
In 1952 a Presbyterian Chapel was built on the estate, but is today closed, and the building is now utilised as a Youth Centre.
Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, March 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference number : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 37224
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.