Records of Hislop, Welsh & Humphrey, architects,Glasgow, Scotland

Scope and Content

  • 723 rolls of drawings of both commercial and domestic Glasgow buildings 1894-1972
  • 15 volumes of ledgers, accounts and letterbooks 1897-1976

Administrative / Biographical History

The architectural practice was established in 1897  by John Archibald Campbell (1859-1909) in West George Street, Glasgow, Scotland. Alexander David Hislop (1876-1966) joined the practice c1909  in the same year as John Campbell died and the firm traded as J A Campbell & A D Hislop from 1909-1960 . In 1924 , Charles G Welsh joined Hislop in the firm and from 1960  the firm traded as A D Hislop & C G Welsh. After the death of David Hislop in 1966 , the practice was joined by T G Humphreys in 1970 . From 1968 until the firms closure in c1980  , the firm traded as Hislop, Welsh & Humphreys, 1968-c.1975.

Their major projects included Rosneath Parish Church, Argyll & Bute, Scotland, between 1908 and 1909 ; Carrongrove Housing in Denny, near Falkirk, Scotland between 1919 and 1925 ; Partick High United Free Church, Glasgow in 1925 ; and Phoenix Assurance Company, St Vincent Street, Glasgow in 1935 .


The material is arranged into series as described in the scope and content note

Access Information

private records deposited by the owners


Acquisition Information

Transferred from Glasgow University Archives : 1980 : ACCN 4633

Other Finding Aids

Item level descriptions are available via the department's online manuscripts catalogue available at  searching by the call number MS Hislop

Collection guide available at the National Registers of Archives in Edinburgh (NRA(S)) and London (NRA)

Archivist's Note

Compiled by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 8 March 2002

No alterations made to date

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Head of Special Collections

Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 247 procedures

Custodial History

Held by the firm of Campbell, Hislop & Welsh and donated to Glasgow University Archives in 1980


None expected

Related Material

No related material