Session minutes, 1843-1978; Deacons' Court minutes, 1852-1973; Congregational board minutes, 1973-1978 and business papers, 1955-1977; Cash books, 1881-1949 and 1964-1988; Seat letting book, 1928-1957; Proclamation register, 1970-1971; Communion rolls, 1886-1921 and 1967-1977; Property registers, 1957-1987; Womans' Guild minutes, 1936-1956 and 1964-1970; papers relating to building of church, 1830-1845; Papers relating to maintenance of buildings and organ, 1949-1973; Papers relating to endowments, teinds and stipends, 1951-1965; Cradle roll, 1967-1973.
Records of Tayport (Ferryport-on-Craig) Free Church, Queen Street United Free Church
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
At the Disruption of 1843 the minister and congregation of Tayport, Ferryport-on-Craig adhered to the Free Church, and during that same year a church was erected to house the session. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, Ferryport-on-Craig became the Queen Street United Free Church and in 1909 was transferred from the Presbytery of St Andrews to that of Dundee. The congregation continued after the union of the United Free Church with the Church of Scotland in 1929. In 1978 Tayport Queen Street and the congregation of Tayport Erskine Ferryport-on-Craig established a union, under the name of Tayport. Tayport Kirk Session, which presently sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews, remains active today.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.