Nine notes and memoranda, 1861-1864, addressed to Rainford Junction, near St Helens on railway traffic matters, mostly from the Engineer's Office and the Passenger Dept., St Helens, but also from the Goods Dept. at Garston and Widnes Docks.
St Helens Canal & Railway Company
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 644
- Dates of Creation1861-1864
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The St Helens Canal & Railway Company was created in 1843 when the St Helens Runcorn Gap Railway was bought out by Sankey Brook Navigation after a period of competition in the transportation of coal to the Mersey.
Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.
Bought from the Roundhouse, 1965.