Records of the Tabernacl Church, Bangor

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

This large collection of church records consists of various registers including, Baptismal Registers, 1809 - 1953 a Register of Births, Marriages and Deaths, 1961 - 1968 and a Register of the members of the Temperance Society, 1898 - 1909.

There are numerous Collection Books and Account Books relating to various church committees and societies e.g. Account Book of the 20th Century Fund, 1900 - 1903; Account Books of the New Building Fund, 1892 - 1935; Pew Rent Books, 1866 - 1938; Organ Fund Accounts, 1928 - 1933. There are minute books of various committees and records relating to the Sunday School including an essay written in 1881 on the subject of the Tabernacl Sunday School.

Miscellaneous material include letters and bills, plans of the Tabernacl Church in Dean Street, organ specifications, a transcript of the history of the beginning of Methodism in Bangor by Thomas Jones, 1884, sermon notes and a copy of the will of Sir Wyn Wheldon. There are also letters addresses to the church minister by church members serving in the army, 1939 - 1945. A couple of photographs of the interior of the church on Garth Road exist, whilst another is most likely of the pulpit in the Dean Street church.

Administrative / Biographical History

The first Tabernacl Church (Calvinistic Methodist) opened in Dean Street, Bangor, North Wales in 1821, but due to the great increase in the size of the congregation, an even bigger church was built in 1834. In 1892, Rev. T. J. Wheldon became minister of Tabernacl and stayed there until 1910. He was a man of great influence with a strong personality who was in favour of building a new church in Garth Road, Bangor despite opposition from other church members.

The foundation stone of the third Tabernacl Church was laid down on 14 October 1903 and the church was officially opened on 2 July 1905. Rev. T.J. Wheldon preached the first sermon there. In 1906 the church had over 400 members, but by 1968 there was less than 150 members.

The last service at Tabernacl Church was held on 29 September 1968. The remaining church members joined the congregation of Twrgwyn Chapel, Upper Bangor.

Arrangement

The records have been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts and arranged according to record type or subject and then chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Acquisition Information

Photographs of interior of church on Garth Road were presented by Mr R. Idloes Owen.

Note

Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, October 2001

Other Finding Aids

An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Department of Manuscripts of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 209, 16415, 23518 - 23652, 23695 - 23698, 24353 - 24386, 25605 - 25606, 35450 - 35452, 35509

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Related Material

For other items of relevance see Belmont Manuscripts, Twrgwyn Chapel Records, Prof. Glyn Roberts Papers and Gaiety Theatre, Anglesey photographs. All are held at the Department of Manuscripts of the University of Wales Bangor. Also see descriptions at Higher Education Archives Hub.

Geographical Names