Parish records of Warthill

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1689-1991; register of marriages, 1689-1752, 1763-1811, 1814-1962, 1964-1990; register of burials, 1689-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812, ages only); register of services, 1929-1977; records concerning benefice income, including modus account, 1831, 1912, notes on tithes, 18th century, and Canal Company payment for glebe, 1716; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1834-1928, and churchyard papers, 1876; centenary service sheet, 1976; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1860-1901, 1913-1995, and enclosure award and map, 1826.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of Warthill was appropriated to the Prebend of Warthill in the See of York at an early date and remained subject to its peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. In 1840 the patronage of the church was transferred to the Archbishop of York. The living was augmented in 1715, 1767, 1791 and 1806.

The medieval parish church was demolished in the 1780s and replaced by a brick building, dedicated to St Mary, in 1787. The present church was built in 1873-1876 to a design by J. G. Hall of Canterbury and at the expense of Mrs and Miss Agar of Brockfield.

Today the parish of Warthill is part of the benefice of Rural East York, which also includes Dunnington, Holtby and Stockton on the Forest.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1986, 1992 and 2002.

Note

The church of Warthill was appropriated to the Prebend of Warthill in the See of York at an early date and remained subject to its peculiar jurisdiction until the nineteenth century. In 1840 the patronage of the church was transferred to the Archbishop of York. The living was augmented in 1715, 1767, 1791 and 1806.

The medieval parish church was demolished in the 1780s and replaced by a brick building, dedicated to St Mary, in 1787. The present church was built in 1873-1876 to a design by J. G. Hall of Canterbury and at the expense of Mrs and Miss Agar of Brockfield.

Today the parish of Warthill is part of the benefice of Rural East York, which also includes Dunnington, Holtby and Stockton on the Forest.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2002.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1689-1991, marriages, 1689-1900, and burials, 1689-1992, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 805, 1581, 1755, 1756).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193