Registers of baptisms 1756-1878, marriages 1770-1813, 1828-1880, burials 1828-1865, confirmations 1795-1860, minutes and accounts 1757-1780, miscellaneous loose papers, charity records and appeals for funds 1812-1867.
Records of St James' Church, Stonehaven
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
From 1709, when the parish church of Dunnottar became Church of Scotland, Episcopalian services were held in Stonehaven Tolbooth. A meeting house was erected in High Street, Stonehaven in 1738, but demolished on Cumberland's orders in 1746, although services continued to be held in a house in the High Street, and a chapel was later built in Cameron Street. In 1803, the congregation of the Qualified Chapel in High Street rejoined the Episcopal Church, and in 1815 the two congregations united in the High Street chapel. In 1877 the present church of St James the Great was built in Arbuthnott Street. In 1931 Stonehaven became linked with Catterline, and from 1953 to 1975 with Drumlithie.
Records are arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were transferred from the National Archives of Scotland in 1994 (AccM/312).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available. There is a database index to the baptisms and marriages.
Alternative Form Available
Microfilm copy in the National Archives of Scotland.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.