This subseries consists of records created by the Dumfries and Maxwelltown Co-operative Society. These include committee records, financial records, members records, memoranda, correspondence, press cuttings, and photographs.
Dumfries and Maxwelltown Co-operative Society
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Dumfries and Maxwelltown Co-operative Society was formed in 1884 in Maxwelltown where its first branch was opened at 9 Glasgow Street. The Society grew quickly from its first branch and within 3 years membership had grown to 400.
Over time the Society began to merge with other local smaller societies including Queen of the South Co-operative Society in 1891, and the Dalbeattie Co-operative Society in 1925. This string of amalgamations increased membership - which reached 17,359 by 1932 - as well as the number of premises owned by the Society, which by 1932 numbered 15. As the Society continued to grow it began to invest in production as well as distribution with a coal depot and farm added by 1932, and a bakery, creamery and a bacon factory by 1966.
The Dumfries and Maxwelltown Co-operative Society underwent a name change in 1973; at which time it became know as the Dumfries Co-operative Society.
Sources: The Co-operative Directory, Co-operative Union Ltd, 1932; Co-operative Directory, Co-operative Union Ltd, 1966; and History of Co-operation in Scotland: Its inception and its leaders, W. M. Maxwell, Co-operative Union, 1910.