Penderry Estate Collection

Scope and Content

Abstract of deeds, c.1787-1806; Deeds, 1800-1810; Inventories and valuations, 1703-1805; Correspondence, 1804-1833; Bills and receipts, 1800-1812; Legal papers, 1804-1839; Wills, 1809; Family papers, 1800-1816

Administrative / Biographical History

The collection relates to the Morgan family and the Penderry estate, in the parish of Llangyfelach, and litigation over the estate in the early nineteenth century. The papers appear to have been part of the collection of James and Collins, solicitors.


The collection was originally catalogued at University College Library, Swansea, where an interpretation of the original order was made. This catalogue lists the items chronologically under the headings stated in Scope and content.

Access Information

No restrictions.

Acquisition Information

The records were originally held at The Royal Institution of South Wales, Swansea. From 1966 onwards the records were moved to the library in the University College, Swansea in consignments. They were transferred to West Glamorgan Archive Service in the Spring of 2004 as part of The Royal Institution of South Wales Collection.


Compiled by Katie Millien for the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. The catalogue can be accessed online.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.


Accruals are not expected.