The Third Spalding Club was formed on 20 Apr 1928, as successor to the New Spalding Club, whose publishing activity had ceased with the death of its secretary P.J. Anderson (1852-1926) in 1926. It inherited all of the New Spalding Club's assets and liabilities, including Bibliographia Aberdonensis, which appeared in 1929 as the Third Spalding Club's first publication (more than 40 years after its inception by the New Spalding Club in its foundation year, 1886). W. Douglas Simpson (1896-1968), Aberdeen University Librarian, took over the role of his predecessor, P.J. Anderson, as secretary of the new club, and, when it was wound up in 1956, its assets and publications were conveyed to the Friends of Aberdeen University Library (transfer completed in 1969).
Notable amongst the Club's 22 publications are The House of Forbes, ed. by Alistair and Henrietta Tayler (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1937); James Giles, Drawings of Aberdeenshire Castles, ed. by W. Douglas Simpson, (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1936); The Book of Glenbuchat, ed. by W. Douglas Simpson, (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1942); Francis Carney Diack, The Inscriptions of Pictland: an Essay on the Sculptured and Inscribed Stones of the North-East and North of Scotland, with other writings and collections, ed. by William M. Alexander and John MacDonald, (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1944); Life and Labour on an Aberdeenshire Estate, 1735-1750: being selections from the Monymusk papers, ed. by Henry Hamilton, (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1946); James Beattie's Day-book, 1773 - 1798, ed. by Ralph S. Walker (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1948); Miscellany of the Third Spalding Club, 3 vols (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1935 - 1960); and William M. Alexander, The Place-names of Aberdeenshire (Aberdeen: Aberdeen University Press, 1952).
For a full list of publications see David Stevenson and Wendy B. Stevenson, Scottish Texts and Calendars: an Analytical Guide to Serial Publications (London: Royal Historical Society and Edinburgh: Scottish History Society, 1987).
For further details on the history of the Third Spalding Club, and its predecessors, the New Spalding Club (1886 - 1928) and the Spalding Club (1839 - 1869), see also, W. Douglas Simpson, The Three Spalding Clubs: a Century in Retrospect, in Third Spalding Club Miscellany, vol. 2 (Aberdeen: Third Spalding Club, 1940), pp.xiii-xxxii; and Donald J. Witherington, Aberdeen Antiquaries: the Founding of the Spalding Club in 1839, Aberdeen University Review, 44 (1971 - 1972), 42 - 55.