- Correspondence re bottles 1965;
- Invoice 1910;
- Company stationery 1960s;
- The Life and Death of Ballingalls of Dundee 1980s.
Records of Ballingall & Son Ltd, brewers, Dundee, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 BL
- Dates of Creation1910-1965
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.02 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Ballingall & Son Ltd began its life as the Pleasance Brewery, Dundee, Scotland , which seems almost certainly to have been established before 1750 , although the founder is unknown. In the 1790s the business was acquired by Ebeneezer Anderson , a local merchant and Provost of Dundee .
Around 1809 a partnership was formed, consisting of Ebeneezer and his son James, and two local merchants, William Lindsay and David Jobson jnr , and was called The Pleasance Brewing Company . Anderson died and Jobson became insolvent, and so in 1819 there was a new partnership of five; Patrick Millar and his son, William Lindsay and his son, and Patrick Scott . Alfred Barnard , author of Noted Breweries of Great Britain and Ireland , was of the opinion that James Ballingall , merchant of Overgate and councillor to the guild, was one of the partners.
In any event, in 1844 William Ballingall acquired and carried on the business under the new name of Ballingall & Son , until his death in 1856 . His son Hugh succeeded him (apparently aged 16 years). He enlarged and rebuilt the old Pleasance Brewery premises, and added the Park Brewery in 1880/1881 . In 1884 Hugh Ballingall was elected Provost of Dundee , maintaining the position until 1887 . It was not until 1897 that Ballingall & Son was registered as a limited liability company with a capital of GBP 100,000.
When Hugh Ballingall died in 1910 his son James succeeded him. The last of the Ballingall dynasty, James, being the great grandson of the brewery's founder, resigned in 1960 when new management took over. In 1964 the brewery was taken over by Drybrough & Co Ltd , the licensed houses were acquired in 1968 and the brewery was finally closed that same year.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously housed with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Dean, Kenneth A.Ballingall of Dundee in Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 11 (Summer 1988)
McMaster. Charles. Ballingall's of Dundee. Part Two 1897-1968 in Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 12 (Autumn 1988)
Brown, EddieThe Life and Death of Ballingalls of Dundee 1980s
Barnard, Alfred . The Noted Breweries of Great Britain and Ireland , Vol 3 ( London, 1890 )
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Amanda Jackson, Scottish Brewing Archive Assistant, 21 December 1999. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 20 December 2001; Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 14 June 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 27 November 2008, and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 04 May 2012.