Administrative records of the home and hospital, including records of residents and patients.
Kingsmead Old People's Home and Grove Road Hospital
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 H1
- Dates of Creation1944 - 1974
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionUnknown
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1948, as part of nationwide health and welfare reforms, the workhouse and its infirmary in Grove Road, Richmond, became the Kingsmead Old People's Home and Grove Road Hospital respectively. The hospital was run by the newly formed National Health Service and the old people's home was run by the Borough of Richmond, which in 1965 was absorbed into the new London Borough of Richmond upon Thames. The hospital and home closed in 1974, and the residents were moved to a new home in Greville Road. The old workhouse building was subsequently turned into flats.
The Kingsmead Old People's Home and Grove Road Hospital Collection is arranged into 7 series records:
- H1/1 Kingsmead admissions and discharge registers, 1948-1974
- H1/2 Kingsmead registers of residents, 1948-1974
- H1/3 Registers of property of residents and patients, 1947-1966
- H1/4 Stores registers, 1962-1971
- H1/5 Records of pig swill collected, 1953-1960
- H1/6 Ministers' report books, 1944-1971
- H1/7 Death records, 1947-1978
Conditions Governing Access
We are currently in the process of cataloguing our collections. To protect personal data, some or all of the records within this collection may be closed for access. If you would like to view this collection, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. Our contact details are listed online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html
The records of the home and hospital have been catalogued as one collection to reflect their close organisational links and shared history.