Copy of declaration, 9 Feb 1710, signed by eleven witnesses that Thomas Butcher had built a house exactly on the site of the parsonage of St Mary Axe in the parish of St Andrew Undershaft, London, and had not encroached on the property of the Leather-sellers' Company, stating 'Tis our opinion that Mr.Bowcher hath not encroach'd in any wise on the property of the worship[fu]ll Company of Leather-sellers, but has built the said erection as it ought to be done on its' old foundations'.
View of Property, St Mary Axe, London
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 559
- Dates of Creation1710
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 leaves
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St Mary Axe is a street in East London connecting Leadenhall Street with Houndsditch. The parish merged with St Andrew Undershaft in 1560/1.
Conditions Governing Access
Access to this collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the supervised environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Bought from Barry Duncan in 1962.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
12" x 7½"
Compiled by Sarah Aitchison as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.