Ruthin Borough Council, records of

Scope and Content

The town of Ruthin, Denbighshire, stands on the river Clwyd. The Borough of Ruthin was granted a Charter of Incorporation by Edward I, c. 1281. The Lordship of Ruthin was granted by him to Reginald de Grey, Lord Grey de Ruthyn, who completed work on Ruthin Castle in 1284. Henry VII made Ruthin a free Borough. The Borough was originally governed by 2 Aldermen and 16 Common Councilmen. The Aldermen were appointed by the Steward of the Lordship of Ruthin at an annual Michaelmas Court. The Aldermen chose the 16 Councillors who then elected Sergeants, Constables and other officials. Following the Municipal Corporations Act 1835 the old Corporation was replaced by a Council comprising a Mayor, four Aldermen and 12 Councillors, elected by the Burgesses. Four of the Councillors retired every year. In 1894, the Borough was given additional responsibilities, including water supply and drainage. In 1974, the Borough was abolished and became part of Glyndwr District Council, Clwyd. T. J. Roberts (fl. 1871-1927) was Mayor of Ruthin and an Honorary Freeman of the Borough. Ruthin Water Co. was active from 1868 and was taken over by the Borough.

Records of Ruthin Borough Council, 1541-1974, including Council minutes, 1642-1974; various committee and draft minutes, 1836-1961; correspondence and other papers of the Town Clerk and his deputy, 1908-1940; abstracts of accounts, 1895-1973; Treasurers' ledgers, accounts and papers, 1922-1974; rate books and valuation lists, 1927-1974; Medical Officers' reports, 1905-1965, and tuberculosis registers and returns, 1912-56; housing registers, accounts and papers, 1910-1966; Ruthin Water Co. and borough water supply accounts, rentals and papers, 1868-1955; records concerning electricity supply, 1913-1948; invoices, 1914-1952; bye-laws, 1907-1965; press cuttings, 1930-1973; photographs, [c. 1900]-1917; plans, [1860], 1931-1953; charity papers, 1869-1913; electoral papers, 1898-1938; letter patent appointing warden of Ruthin, 1541; deeds for properties in Denbighshire, 1616-1726; correspondence and papers of T. J. Roberts relating to gas and water supply, schools, bus and railway service, fire brigade and other local matters, 1871-1927. See also System of Arrangement field.

Dated 1541-1974 (mainly 1642-1974)


Arranged into the following groups by deposit and type: minute books; magistrates' minute books; watch committee minute book; draft minute books; Local Board minute book; committee minute books; agendas, minutes and reports; index to minute books; registers of Councillors' declarations of acceptance of office; register of sworn Councillors; register of Councillors' attendance; Town Clerk's correspondence (incoming); Town Clerk's correspondence (outgoing); Deputy Town Clerk's correspondence (incoming); correspondence and other papers of Town Clerk; abstracts of accounts; Treasurers' account books; cash books; cash account books; general cash book; ledgers; purchase ledger; petty cash book; financial statements; auditors' reports on accounts; correspondence relating to audit; income and expenditure sheets; Town Clerk's financial reports; rating; valuation; health; housing; water; electricity; invoices; loans; miscellaneous; papers of T. J. Roberts of Ruthin; plans; poster and correspondence; and ledgers.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Geographical Names