This sequence of over one hundred charters relating to abbeys in Normandy was part of a collection assembled by the Abbé Gervais De La Rue (1751-1835), the noted Norman scholar. The documents comprise grants, confirmations of grants, vidimuses, licences and legal agreements concerning lands belonging to abbeys at Ardenne (BMC/1-37), Aunay-sur-Odon (BMC/38-41), Barbery (BMC/42-50), Caen (BMC/51-70), Fècamp (BMC/73-78), Fontenay-le-Tesson (BMC/79-84), Gouffern (BMC/85-90), Troarn (BMC/97-106) and Vignats (BMC/107-113). Among the most interesting items are a Bull of Pope Nicholas III (BMC/62), and a Bull of the Antipope Benedict XIII (BMC/63) relating to the Benedictine Abbey of La Sainte-Trinitè in Caen.
The majority of items relate to houses and their estates in the Dèpartement of Calvados, with smaller numbers concerning the Départements of Manche, Orne and Seine Inférieure. Much of the material dates from the late 12th, 13th and early 14th centuries, constituting a significant source for studies of land-holding and the organization of religious houses in medieval France.
There is also a single item relating to Marrick Priory in Swaledale, North Yorkshire (BMC/91). It is probable that this document did not derive from the Abbé De La Rue, but originated with Thomas Stapleton or Lord Beaumont.