Records of Courts of Petty Sessions

Scope and Content

Contains records of the Petty Sessions Courts that existed for the Conway and Llandudno and Nant Conway Divisions of the County of Caernarvonshire and the Uwchdulas and Uwchaled Division of the County of Denbighshire. All three courts and related juvenile and police courts covered the area now part of Conwy County Borough.

Administrative / Biographical History

Petty Sessions Courts, also known as Courts of Summary Jurisdiction used magistrates rather than juries to decide cases and had jurisdiction only over less serious offences. They also dealt with non criminal legal matters such as licensing applications and certain family law issues such as adoption orders.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see

Related Material

For further records of the Court, including further registers and depositions, see CD4/1