The British Society of Rheology Archive

Scope and Content

The archive contains the papers of the British Society of Rheology; papers relating to conferences on rheology; papers concerning other rheological societies; papers relating to other scientific organisations; photographs, and a small group of papers concerning Hermann Killesreiter.

Administrative / Biographical History

The British Society of Rheology (BSR) was founded in 1940, mainly as a result of the increased interest in rheology - the science of the deformation and flow of matter - brought about by the second world war. It was considered necessary in this new climate to create some sort of organisational body to promote rheology and communication between rheologists. A meeting was held in Reading in 1940, from which developed the British Rheology Club (renamed the British Society of Rheology in 1950), its aim being the 'bringing together of rheologists and of promoting rheology as a science to the public at large'. Sir Geoffrey Taylor FRS was appointed president and George William Scott-Blair was made secretary. Scott-Blair went on to become the Society's president from 1949 to 1951, and received the Founders' Gold Medal in 1970.

The BSR strives to encourage progress in the field of rheology. It therefore awards a Gold Medal every few years for outstanding achievement in the field, along with its Annual Award. The Society's Bulletin, and its Rheology Abstract, also serve to update members on rheological developments. Young rheologists are encouraged through the BSR Scott-Blair Memorial Scholarship, established in memory of its founder, the great rheologist George William Scott-Blair. It also administers the externally funded Scott-Blair Biorheology Scholarship. In addition, Young Rheologists' Days are organised, with awards made for the presentation of papers.

Since its conception, the BSR has grown and developed, and now boasts over six hundred members from across the world. It was one of the founder members of the International Society of Rheology, established in 1953, and of the European Society of rheology, formed in 1996. It also has strong links with the American body, The Society of Rheology. Yet the informal atmosphere of the original Club is maintained. Offices remain honorary, and an elected council presides, made up of rheologists from both academia and industry.

Access Information

The papers may be consulted through application by e-mail to: or by post to: Aberystwyth University, Archives, Information Services, Llandinam Building, Penglais, Aberystwyth, SY23 3DB. Tel: 01970 628593.


Description compiled by Rhian Phillips, Archives Hub project archivist, with reference to

Other Finding Aids

British Society of Rheology, Draft Notes on the British Society of Rheology Archives, (British Society of Rheology, nd).

Related Material

The University of Wales, Aberystwyth also holds the Scott-Blair collection of printed books.