The first Dwygyfylchi National School opened c.1836 in a converted cottage previously used as a toll house near the junction of Treforris and Conway Old Roads. It closed in 1848 when it was replaced by a new school near the junction of Ysgubor Wen Road and what is now the A55. Today a roundabout covers the site.
This was the first purpose-built school in the village with accommodation for the master. It was intended to serve children from the whole elongated parish from Capelulo to Penmaenan, but in effect was too far to walk for both sets of pupils to walk, especially in bad weather. When it closed in 1872 it became the site for a gasworks.
Glanrafon School, at the foot of the cemetery, had originally been built as a school for Non-Conformist children by the Darbishire family of Pendyffryn Hall. When it closed in 1884 it was re-named Dwygyfylchi National School. It became a council school, serving briefly as a County School, and in 1913 re-opened as a new school named Capelulo Council School. Today it is called Ysgol Capelulo.