Records of Long Eaton Conservative Club, Derbyshire, 1888-1971

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The collection consists chiefly of administrative records of the Conservative Club. These includeminute books of monthly committee meetings and annual general meetings (1888-1964), and accounts andother financial records. There are also membership records of full and temporary members (1888,1905-1966), two photographs of club officers and committee members (1925, 1947), and files ofinvoices and correspondence (1960). Unfortunately, many of the early ledgers and minute books arelost or excessively damaged.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Long Eaton Conservative Club was established in 1888 at 2, Regent Street, Long Eaton,Derbyshire. The club was a social club to which members paying subscriptions could belong. A portionof these subscriptions went to the Conservative Party. In 1961, the club had a total of 670 members:523 were paid members while the rest were lapsed, honorary, or in the armed forces. The clubprovided bars, billiard tables, skittle alleys and organised events. It remained in Regent Streetuntil 1999 when the club closed and the premises became occupied by Brennans, a public house.

Arrangement

The collection has been divided into series bringing like document types together. Within eachseries, items have been listed chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: In general accessible to all registered readers;some restrictions on later material.

REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and privatestudy purposes only, depending on the copyright status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.

  • In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 12 pp
  • At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 12 pp

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must besought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk).The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult andthe responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the personwishing to publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The collection was transferred to The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts andSpecial Collections in 1974.

Geographical Names