Financial Records, 1942-1949; Patient Records, 1953-1963; Maps and Plans 1978-1983.
Blairgowrie and Rattray Districts Cottage Hospital
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The idea of a hospital at Blairgowrie had been initiated by Mrs Clerk-Rattray in 1882, and on whose death bequeathed £25 for 'such an institution should it ever be founded'. Several attempts were made to get subscriptions going over the following years - all failed. Then Mrs Macpherson of Newton Castle, Blairgowrie gifted the site and that was followed by subscriptions ranging from donations of £1000 downwards. The architect, Lake Falconer of L and J Falconer, architects, Blairgowrie, gave his services free, while things like furnishing, landscaping was also donated. Blairgowrie and Rattray Districts Cottage Hospital was opened on 30th May 1901. The description of the hospital when it opened said it had two large wards with room for three female and three male beds, plus a couple more if needed.
Records are arranged chronologically within series
Conditions Governing Access
Clinical information is closed for 100 years
The information for administrative/biographical history came from a report of its opening published in the Blairgowrie Advertiser, June 1, 1901, p.6, from Perth and Kinross Council Archives
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
There are no known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
The records are on paper with some photographs.
Fonds level description compiled by Jennifer Johnstone, Project Archivist, February 2007
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
Location of Originals
The material is original