Greenock minute books, 1835-50, registration book, 1851-63.
Journeymen Steam Engine, Machine Makers' and Millwrights' Friendly Society
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 152 MSS.259/JSEM
- Dates of Creation1835-1863
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description[ not recorded ]
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The union was founded in 1838 by the amalgamation of the Friendly Union of Mechanics with the Mechanics' Friendly Union Institution. 'Millwrights' was added to the title in 1842. It amalgamated with four other unions to form the Amalgamated Society of Engineers in 1851.
Reference: J.B. Jeffreys, The story of the engineers.London, 1945 (repr. 1970).
Conditions Governing Access
Access : Open.
The records have been listed as part of the Amalgamated Engineering and Electrical Union archive. Authority files exist for the Journeymen Steam Engine, Machine Makers' and Millwrights' Friendly Society (GB 152 AAR551) and its predecessors, the Friendly Union of Mechanics (GBR 0152 AAR552) and the Mechanics' Friendly Union Institution (GBR 0152 AAR553).
The archive has been deposited in the Centre on indefinite loan by the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers. The first deposit consisted of fifteen boxes of early minutes collected by Richard Storey on 1st November 1984. Accruals are listed under the entry for the Amalgamated Engineering and Electrical Union (MSS.259).