Anti-Discrimination Bill Petition

Scope and Content

Papers relate to the survey carried out by Women in Media which sought to ascertain the personal attitudes of MPs towards discrimination against women. Some material was originally Mary McCurrie's file.

Consists of:

- responses to questionnaire sent to MPs on 14 Dec 1972 concerning Anti-Discrimination Bill 2nd reading on 2 Feb 1973

- list of MPs who supported the principle of Equal Opportunity for women (incomplete)

- analysis of responses to questionnaire

- letters or returned questionnaires from :

Ernest Armstrong, Jack Ashley, Norman Atkinson, Anne Bates, Tony Benn, Anthony Berry, A Booth, Alfred Boughton, Norman Buchan, Joyce Butler, Barbara Castle, Kenneth Clarke, John Cunningham, I Davies, Edmund Dell, Hugh De Largy, Dick Douglas, Michael English, Harry Ewing, A Fell, Janet Fookes, Norman Fowler, Roland Foyle, Norman Gaster, J Hamilton, Geoffrey Howe, Leslie Huckfield, Tom Iremonger, Patrick Jenkin, Roy Jenkins, Neil Kinnock, T Leadbitter, Ian Lloyd, S Loveman, Edward Lyons, Ena MacPherson, David Madel, JPW Mallalieu, Norman Miscampbell, Bob Mitchell, Gerald Nabarro, Eric Ogden, Sally Oppenheim, Stanley Orme, Laurence Reed, Ivor Richard, Edward Short, SC Silkin, Charles Simeons, Nigel Spearing, Keith Speed, Lady Stocks, Tom Thorpe, Wilfred Proudfoot, Harold Wilson, Philip Whitehead, Marcus Worsley

- 2 felt hearts with typed words 'Red felt, heartfelt, longfelt want, equality'. One with manuscript note 'from David Walder (Clitheroe)'

- copy of Shirley Conran's personal recollections of the Equal Rights Bill Campaign, Dec 1988 [describes how red felt heart and letter was sent to every MP in the House of Commons. The 'Bleeding Heart Group']