Pentrecelyn school was opened in 1874 as a mixed junior and infants school with 34 pupils on roll. The Head Teacher was Owen Henry Owen.
In July 1879 Robert Price Jones became Head Teacher.
In January 1885 John William Jones became Head Teacher - a role he held until his retirement in December 1924 after more than 44 years of association with the school. Throughout this period it was a very successful school. In 1889 it was described as a 'model country school' (pg 262 ED/LB/55/3). In 1898 there were over 80 pupils and by 1902 there were 110.
In 1905 Pentrecelyn was described as a Council School as it had been taken over by the LEA. By 1919 an HMI report described Pentrcelyn Council School as such - 'There is no better rural school in the county' (pg 313 ED/LB/55/4)
In April 1925 Evan Davies took over as head teacher from John William Jones followed in 1932 by George Jones. Pentrecelyn offered bilingual teaching throughout its history and became a Welsh medium school. In 1974 the school celebrated its centenary and by 1986 there were still 85 pupils on the register. As of 2014 there were 42 pupils on the register.
Pentrecelyn School is due to close in July 2016 to be amalgamated with Llanfair DC Primary School.
This collection includes log books, admission registers and accounts.
Pentrecelyn, Ruthin LL15 2HG