The Records of the Edinburgh International Club include 8 minute books for the period 1914-1986 at MS 2269, and at MS 2270 a file containing historical information about the Club, cuttings, membership cards, programmes of events, typescript and manuscript documents, copies of Concordia the official newsletter of the Club, and a file of correspondence.
Records of the Edinburgh International Club
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 237 Coll-270
- Dates of Creation1914-1986
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 boxes.
- LocationMSS 2269-2270
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Edinburgh International Club arose out of a chance meeting in 1912 between Dr. Armistead, a senior student of medicine at Edinburgh University, his wife, and Miss A. H. Begbie an Edinburgh citizen. An invitation to Miss Begbie's home followed, and Dr. Armistead had explained to her the value of their chance meeting and new friendship and how other visitors from overseas would also value the experience of meeting local people in their own environments. Fortnightly 'at homes' for the Armisteads and overseas acquaintances resulted from this, hosted by Miss Begbie and her cousin Miss Kemp. Out of these sprang the idea for a club and on Saturday 1 November 1913 the Edinburgh International Club was formally launched. The object of the Club was to promote friendly relations and social intercourse between members of various nationalities resident in Edinburgh, and the earliest meetings of the body included representatives from fourteen different countries. Activities and events over the years included walks, folk dancing, Polish dancing, Kenyan entertainment, Ukrainian concerts, Sri Lankan evenings, and Norwegian evenings. On the 50th anniversary of the Club in November 1963, the Principal of Edinburgh University hosted an event for its membership at Edinburgh University Library, and in 1979, the 65th anniversary year, a party was held at the Triangle Coffee House, Randolph Place. By 1986 however, the Club had ceased to function because of lack of support from the overseas student body towards whom it had originally directed itself to assist.
Conditions Governing Access
Generally open for consultation to bona fide researchers, but please contact repository for details in advance.
The Records of the Edinburgh International Club were received in February 1988, Accession no. E88.31.
The administrative history was compiled using material contained within the collection.
Compiled by Graeme D Eddie, Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections Division
Other Finding Aids
Important finding aids generally are: the alphabetical Index to Manuscripts held at Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections and Archives, consisting of typed slips in sheaf binders and to which additions were made until 1987; and the Index to Accessions Since 1987.