Records of the Exegetical Society

Scope and Content

The collection is composed of: the laws of the Exegetical Society in a notebook, with lists of members from 1831-1835; minutes of the Exegetical Society, November 1831 to July 1835; and, essays of the Exegetical Society, 1831-1835, in exercise books, with photographs at the end of one of these, and also an additional essay by Andrew A. Bonar dated 10 November 1836 along with biographical cuttings.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Exegetical Society at Divinity Hall (New College, Edinburgh University) was formed on 19 November 1831 by Andrew A. Bonar (1810-1892). The original members of the Exegetical Society included, besides Horatius Bonar and Andrew Bonar, William Laughton, Thomas Brown, Henry Moncreiff, William Wilson, John Thomson, Walter Wood, John Millar, Robert Hamilton, John Burne, Patrick Borrowman, Alex. Somerville, and Robert Murray M'Cheyne. Meetings were held in the vestry of St. Stephen's Church, Edinburgh.

Access Information

Generally open for consultation to bona fide researchers, but please contact repository for details in advance.


The biographical/administrative history was compiled using material contained in the collection.

Compiled by Graeme D Eddie, Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections Division.

Other Finding Aids

Local lists.


Check the local Indexes for details of any additions.

Related Material

The collections at New College also include the Papers of Rev. Andrew A. Bonar (1810-1892) at MSS BOX 32.9.1-22; MSS BOX.28.4.1-16