This small collection contains a copy of the petition for the grant of a charter incorporating the Haltemprice Urban District Council as a Borough (1952) with related supporting documents. There is also a photograph of the railway on Spurn Point (c.1936).
Papers about Haltemprice Urban District Council
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Haltemprice became a parish in 1858, before which it had been an extra-parochial area. It was later part of the Sculcoates Rural District after the passage of the Local Government Act 1894. In 1935, the Haltemprice Urban District was established to cover the Cottingham and Hessle urban districts, Sculcoates Rural District, the parish of Haltemprice and the parish of West Ella. Haltemprice continued as an Urban District until its merger in 1974 to form part of the Beverley borough in Humberside. Following the dissolution of Humberside in 1996, Haltemprice is now made up of various parishes and is governed by the East Riding of Yorkshire County Council.
Conditions Governing Access
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Donated by Norman Bisby, Cottingham, November 1979 [DX137/1-3] and 4 March 1981 [DX137/4]