Rather miscellaneous group of papers concerning the running of the mills in Todmorden and the surrounding district; these were Waterside (built 1780-90), Lumbutts (bought c1803), Causeway (1815), Stoneswood (1818), Smithyholme (1819), Dobroyd (?), Waterstalls (1832), Mytholmroyd (1836), Robinswood (1843), Greenwoods (1845), and Jumb (1847).
The papers are scattered over a long period of time, and relate to many different subjects. They include lists of sales and returns, stock, cotton deliveries, wages paid, staff employed, and other various interesting (though incomplete) financial records, as well as correspondence between the Fieldens and their managers (valued employees such as John Haworth, Joseph Hirst, Thomas Fielden Uttley, John & Edmund Holt, John Midgley, William Wrigley, and J.W. Greenwood). There are also descriptions of equipment and machinery and alterations to the mills, accident and fire reports, and details of canal transport.