City and County of Swansea

Scope and Content

City and County of Swansea: Chief Executive's Department; Commons Registration Department; Development Department (from 2003, Regeneration Directorate): Economic Development Section ; Estates Department; Education Department; Department of Leisure (from 2002, Culture and Recreation; 2003 Culture and Tourism Service Unit); Department of Legal and Administrative Services (from 1998 Legal and Committee Services Division); Planning Department ; Electoral Services Department; Social Services Department; Environment Department;

Administrative / Biographical History

The City and County of Swansea Council is the governing body for one of the Principal Areas of Wales covering Swansea, Gower and the surrounding area. The council consists of 72 councillors representing 36 electoral wards. In 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972, Swansea (which had previously been a county borough) was merged with Gower Rural District, to become a district of West Glamorgan called the District and City of Swansea. In 1996, another local government reform saw the district of Swansea merged with parts of the Lliw Valley district to form a unitary authority under the name of the City and County of Swansea.

Access Information

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained


Accruals are not expected.