Amalgamated Society of Vehicle Builders, Wheelwrights Carpenters and Mechanics

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minutes, 1915-45; accounts, 1921-37.

Administrative / Biographical History

The society was established in 1873 as the Amalgamated Society of Railway Vehicle Wagon Builders, Wheelwrights Carpenters and Mechanics. In 1914 it absorbed the National Amalgamated Society of Railway Wagon and Carriage Builders and Lifters. In 1920 it changed its name to the Amalgamated Society of Vehicle Builders, Wheelwrights Carpenters and Mechanics. It amalgamated with the Amalgamated Engineering Union on the 1st July 1945.

Reference: Arthur Marsh and Victoria Ryan, Historical directory of trade unions. Volume 2.Aldershot : Gower, 1984.

Conditions Governing Access

Access : Open.

Archivist's Note

The records have been listed as part of the Amalgamated Engineering and Electrical Union archive. Authority files exist for the Amalgamated Society of Vehicle Builders, Wheelwrights Carpenters and Mechanics (GB 152 AAR526) and its predecessor, the Amalgamated Society of Railway Vehicle Wagon Builders, Wheelwrights Carpenters and Mechanics (GBR 0152 AAR527).

Custodial History

The archive has been deposited in the Centre on indefinite loan by the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers. The first deposit consisted of fifteen boxes of early minutes collected by Richard Storey on 1st November 1984. Accruals are listed under the entry for the Amalgamated Engineering and Electrical Union (MSS.259) .