Records of the Croes-y-parc Baptist Church, 1906-1977, including minutes of church meetings, 1906-1935; accounts book of collection money, general receipts and expenditure etc., 1926-1961; and programme and hymn sheet for bicentenary celebrations, 1977.
Croes-y-parc Baptist Church, Peterston-super-Ely, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Croes-y-parc Baptist Church, Peterston-super-Ely, Glamorgan, was established in 1776 as a Particular/Strict Baptist church following visits by Rees Edwards, a member of Pen-y-garn Baptist church, Pontypool, Monmouthshire. The congregation met initially in the old castle, but after its admission to the Baptist Association in 1778, the ruined house of Croes-y-parc was leased, and a chapel constructed. The increase in membership necessitated rebuilding in 1843. Croes-y-parc was the mother church of Tabernacl Welsh Baptist Church 1813, in the Star and Garter, on the western side of Cardiff Castle, later (1821) in The Hayes, Cardiff, and also of other churches at Cadoxton, Twynyrodyn, and Pentyrch.
Minute books have been arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
Items containing information on named individuals may be closed in accordance with data protection legislation, but access may be given to such records in accordance with Record Office policy.
Deposited by the Croes-y-Parc Baptist Church, 1973 and later.
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available
Compiled by Hayden Burns for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Glamorgan Record Office, Catalogue of records for Croes-y-parc Baptist Church; Riden, Philip, Records Sources for Local History (London, 1987); Stephens, W.B., Sources for English Local History, (Cambridge, 1981). Jenkins, J.A., and R. Edwards James, The History of Nonconformity in Cardiff, (Cardiff, 1901).
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.