Papers of T. W. Harcourt Roberts, 1817-1948, including papers relating to the Hook Colliery, 1884-1948; papers relating to Pembrokeshire Portland Cement Scheme, 1946-1948; records of the Little Milford estate, 1886-1935; and postcards, 1902-1915.
Harcourt Roberts Papers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 D/HR
- Dates of Creation1817-1948
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(Information to be supplied)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
T. W. Harcourt Roberts was the general manager of Hook Colliery in the mid 20th century. The Roberts family lived on the Little Milford Estate in Freystrop, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire. Hook Colliery, Llangwm, Pembrokeshire, was opened in 1850, and operated until 1947. An attempt was made in the 1950s to re-open it as a private mine by Hook Colliery Co., under T. W. Harcourt Roberts. The Pembrokeshire Portland Cement scheme was a proposed development in the borough of Pembroke.
Arranged into three groups: Group one consists of Pembrokeshire Portland Cement records; Group two consists of Hook Colliery and Pembrokeshire Portland Cement records; Group three consists of postcards.
Deposited by Mr T. W Harcourt Roberts per Mr G. A. Dickman, Pembrokeshire County Librarian, 1968; further deposits made by Mrs Harcourt Roberts, Little Milford, Pembrokeshire, 1974.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Harcourt Roberts Papers, catalogue; Jones, Francis, Historic Houses of Pembrokeshire and their Families (Newport, 1996); Harry, John, Pembrokeshire Coalfield ([Haverfordwest], 1990).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available in Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected