North Wales Deeds and Documents

Scope and Content

Comprises deeds and other documents relating to property in North Wales counties of Anglesey, Caernarfonshire, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Merionethshire and Montgomeryshire:

A. Deeds of Title, 1732-1912

  • Anglesey: Parishes of Amlwch, Llanddaniel-fab, Llandysilio, Llanfflewin, Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog, Llangoed, Llansadwrn, Llanddwyn and Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll, 1776- 1907.
  • Caernarfonshire: Parishes of Bangor, Caerhun, Llandudno, Llanllechid and Conwy, 1776 - 1864
  • Denbighshire: Parish of Abergele, 1732 - 1817.
  • Flintshire: Parishes of Cilcain, Diserth, Hope, Rhuddlan and Whitford (Chwitffordd). Also contains deeds relating to mines, quarries and railways etc including Flint Marsh Colliery Company, Hope Colliery, coalmines in Flintshire, Ochr-y-Foel Quarry, Llay Hall Colliery, Wrexham Mold and Connah's Way Railway, 1825 - 1912
  • Merionethshire: Parishes of Mallwyd and Llanymawddwy, 1873-1906
  • Montgomeryshire: Parishes of Llangynog and Mallwyd, 1875-1904

B. Probates of Wills and Administrations, 1840-1896 relating to lands in Anglesey, Denbighshire and Caernarfonshire. Wills relate to Hughes family of Abergele and Reverend John Hughes Williams of Llangadwaladr, Denbighshire, Owen Owens of Llangoed, and Thomas Williams of Beaumaris, Anglesey.

C. Marriage Settlements, 1782-1872 relating to lands in Anglesey, Caernarfonshire and Denbighshire.

D. Miscellaneous documents, 1703 -1908 relating to Thomas Meyrick of Llanelltud, in Merionethshire and copper and other mines in Llanberis, Caernarfonshire.

Administrative / Biographical History

In modern times the six most northerly counties of Wales were known as Anglesey, Caernarfonshire, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Merionethshire (Merioneth) and Montgomeryshire. Following local government reorganisation in 1974 and 1996, they have undergone significant administrative change. Caernarfonshire and Merionethshire are now administered as Gwynedd, the historical name; Denbighshire was abolished in 1974 and absorbed into the newly created county of Clwyd, which was itself abolished in 1996, when four new authorities were created, known as Denbighshire, Flintshire, Wrexham Borough and Conwy County Borough. The boundaries of these modern constructs of Denbighshire and Flintshire are different from those of the historic counties of the same names. The former county of Montgomeryshire is now administered as Powys.


Material is arranged according to record type and location, then in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Access Information

Open to all users


Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, April 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 24387-24522

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.