P.J. Lynch Collection

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 1840 PJL
  • Dates of Creation
      c 1986-2000
  • Name of Creator
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      1 artwork box

Scope and Content

Collection contains finished, single illustrations (two illustrations in the case of 'Fairy Tales of Ireland') from the following works, illustrated by P. J. Lynch:

'A Bag of Moonshine' (Alan Garner, Collins, 1986)

'Fairy Tales of Ireland' (compiled by W.B. Yeats, Collins, 1990)

'Stories for Children', (Oscar Wilde, Simon & Schuster, 1990)

'The Steadfast Tin Soldier' (H.C. Anderson/Naomi Lewis, Andersen Press, 1991)

'Catkin' (Antonia Barber, Walker Books, 1994)

'The King of Ireland's Son' (Brendan Behan, London, Anderson, 1996)

'When Jessie Came Across the Sea' (Amy Hest, London, Walker Books, 1997)

'The Names Upon the Harp' (Marie Heaney, Faber and Faber, 2000)

Collection also contains an unidentified illustration, probably from a book of fairy tales edited by Susan Price and published by Faber. The collection contains both pen and ink line drawings, and works in watercolour.

Administrative / Biographical History

Created by P. J. Lynch in the course of his illustrating career.


Illustrations have been arranged by order of publication date, with the unidentified drawing appearing at the end.

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers, by appointment only.

Custodial History

Donated to Seven Stories by the creator in 2002.

Related Material

Photocopied artwork for 'Johnny Reed's Cat and other Northern Tales' by Kathleen Hersom, illustrated by Lynch, can be found in the Kathleen Hersom collection (KH/01/04/02).