Session and manager's minutes, accounts etc, 1760-1801 and 1820.
Records of Colinsburgh Associate Congregation
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The village of Colinsburgh, in the parish of Kilconquhar (Fife), established itself as the place where the Presbytery of Relief was first constituted. In 1760 the first minister of the Colinsburgh Relief congregation was inducted and the building of a meeting-house for the congregation began soon after, about a mile from the parish church. There were problems within the congregation and the Relief Church concerning the ordination and ministry of James Cowan, the second minister, and in 1800 a new Relief congregation was created in Colinsburgh. The average summer attendance at the church was 50 in 1837. After the death of the last minister, Alexander Scott, in 1842, the congregation ceased.
Source: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.