Comprises account books, containing details of charges made for meals, board and lodging; journeys made by carriage and motor car and details of retail sales of beverages to individual customers. Also contains photographs, letters, postcards, stock books and other miscellaneous items relating to business activities at the Belle Vue Hotel, Bangor.
Belle Vue Hotel Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Belle Vue Hotel, at College Road, upper Bangor, north Wales, was owned by the Lloyd Hughes family. The civil engineer Sir Thomas Telford was accommodated there while working on the nearby suspension bridge over the Menai Straits, which was constructed between 1818 and 1826. The Belle Vue Hotel no longer exists but is currently the location for a public house which operates under the same name.
Material was received on separate occasions, arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Presented by Mr W. Lloyd Hughes of the Belle Vue Garage.
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, April 2002.
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 37594-37614, 38086-38094
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.