Records of Criccieth UDC and related bodies, 1799-1974, comprising minute books of Criccieth Corporation, 1833-1894; Parliamentary Bill for the Borough of Criccieth, 1873; Urban Sanitary Authority minutes and ledger, 1873-1895; minute books and related papers of Criccieth UDC council meetings, 1895-1974, and committee meetings, 1898-1949; UDC account ledgers, 1891-1965; Clerk's copy letters, 1951-1962; Inspector of Nuisances' journal, 1919-1928; Sanitary Inspectors' reports and other records, 1892-1958; annual reports of the Combined Sanitary Districts of Caernarvonshire, 1879-1912, County Medical Officer of Health for Caernarvonshire, 1917-1930, and District Medical Officers of Health, 1923-1942; Surveyors' records, 1881-1947; plans, 1857-[post 1894]; Criccieth vestry minute books, 1870-1922; register of poor rate for Criccieth, 1799-1803; Poor Rate books, 1809-1926; General District Rate books and other records, 1858-1947; miscellaneous account ledgers, 1865-1962, registers, 1885-1941, and reports, 1873-1919; and Criccieth and Penllyn Joint Burial Board records, 1876-1934.
Records of Criccieth Urban District Council
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XB/6
- Dates of Creation1799-1974
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description261 items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Borough of Criccieth (Cricieth), Caernarfonshire, established in the 13th century, became a Corporation in 1833 and an Urban Sanitary Authority in 1873. Other adminsitrative functions were overseen by the Vestry meeting of Criccieth parish, and the Criccieth and Penllyn Joint Burial Board. Criccieth Urban District Council (UDC) was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. The Council comprised councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. It took over responsibility for local sanitation from the Urban Sanitary Authority and its responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, housing, streets, libraries, parks, controls on buildings such as petrol stations, and licensing of public entertainments. UDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor, Rating Officer and Sanitary Inspector. Criccieth UDC was abolished in 1974 following local government reorganisation, and became part of Dwyfor District Council.
Arranged into the following: general UDC documents; committees of Criccieth UDC and related documents; officers of Criccieth UDC and related documents; poor rate & general rate; general documents; inquiries; and Criccieth & Penllyn Joint Burial Board.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Cofnodion CDT Criccieth/Records of Criccieth UDC, catalogue; Jackson, W. Eric, The Structure of Local Government in England and Wales (London: Longmans, 1949); Hey, David, Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford, 1997); Dodd, A. H., A History of Caernarvonshire (Wrexham, 1990).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
No information found
Accruals are not expected