Records relating to builders and carpentry businesses based in the North Newington area. From details in the wages and account books, the businesses would appear to be those of the Busby family.
George Busby (c.1832-1910), a farmer, was also operating as a builder and contractor by the 1880s. In around 1888 he moved to new premises at North Newington Mill. By 1915, the business was operating under the name J.E. and J. Busby, carpenters, builders and wheelwrights.
The collection comprises record books and financial records relating to work and projects undertaken across north Oxfordshire, primarily in and around North Newington and Broughton. The business's operations included building, carpentry, masonry, painting, thrashing, tool making, general repairs and repairs to agricultural implements.
The records were deposited as accession 598 in 1965.
Previously catalogued under reference 'Dodson'. Recatalogued by Katherine Kinrade in June 2021.