Bullingdon Rural District was created by the Oxfordshire Review Order 1932. It was formed out of Culham and Thame Rural Districts (both of which were abolished) and parts of Crowmarsh and Headington Rural Districts (which were also abolished).
Bullingdon RD was abolished in 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972 and was absorbed into South Oxfordshire District.
In common with other rural and urban district councils, amongst its many responsibilities Bullingdon RDC was responsible for public health, housing, rating, planning, building regulations, water supplies, sewerage, some roads, and (during World War Two) evacuation.
The collection was originally catalogued as Bullingdon RDC (accession numbers 741, 1117, 1507, 1548, 1549, 1628). Re-catalogued by Chris Gilliam and Richard Bullard with additional records from accession numbers 740, 3144, 3450, 4798, 5156, 5187, 5229, 5247, 5340, 5388, 5438
Date completed: January 2008.