- Articles of Association, 1946-1947;
- Minutes and Resolutions of Directors, 1946-1952;
- Certificate of Incorporation on change of name, 1946
- Legal Agreements, 1965-1971;
- Annual Accounts, 1945-195;
- Directors' Reports and Accounts for Shareholders, 1976-1978;
- Ledgers, 1931-1979;
- Trade mark and Patents, 1931-1977;
- Production and research records, 1897-1978;
- Contracts and Terms of Employment, 1976-1979;
- Wages and Salaries Records, 1930-1952;
- Staff Clubs and Recreation Records, 1950-1965;
- Promotional Material, 1945-1958;
- Leather Producers Association Material, 1946-1979.
Records of W & J Martin Ltd, leather merchants, tanners and footwear manufacturers, Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire, Scotland
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 UGD 167
- Dates of Creation1897-1979
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish, German,
- Physical Description0.91 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In the 1830s, James Martin set up in business as a leather merchant in Gallowgate, Glasgow, Scotland. He expanded his activities into tanning, purchasing premises for this purpose in Brunswick Street, Glasgow, at some time in the 1850s. The tanning operation became the concern of a separate firm, Martin & Millar, during the 1860s and during this period, James Martin purchased additional premises in London Road, Glasgow. In 1869 James Martin died, but his sons continued the business. They traded as W & J Martin and purchased the Brunswick Street premises and other assets from Mr Millar, erstwhile partner of their father in the firm Martin & Millar.
In around 1900, the firm started to pioneer a new chrome leather tanning process and, in 1901, a new factory was purchased in Baltic Street, Glasgow. In 1933 the company also purchased premises in Argyll Street in Bridgeton, Glasgow, which were the former home of Argyll Motors. In 1946, W & J Martin finally assumed limited liability and became W & J Martin (Glasgow) Ltd.The company sold its Brunswick Street premises in 1956, and consequently moved its head office to the Albion Leather Works in London Road. Three years later, most of the company's operations were moved to Bolton, England, although a small presence remained in Glasgow.
In 1965 W & J Martin (Glasgow) Ltd became part of the National Chrome Tanning Co (1936) Ltd, which was itself part of the Scottish Tanning Industries Group. The company's activities were consequently relocated once again to Bridge of Weir and Paisley, Renfrewshire, Scotland, but it ceased trading in 1981. In 1986 the National Chrome Tanning Co (1936) Ltd became the National Chrome Tanning Co Ltd, and in 1993 changed its name again to become NCT Leather Ltd.
Arranged chronologically within record series
Some records may be subject to Data Protection Legislation. No access to post 1976 papers and no access to pre 1976 papers for legal, business or commercial reasons without the written permission of NCT Leather Ltd. Apply in the first instance to Glasgow University Archive Services.
Other Finding Aids
Digital file level list available in the searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures. The collection was re-appraised by Lesley Richmond, University Archivist, 2012.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by members of Glasgow University Archive Service staff. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Emma Anthony, Assistant Archivist, 2 February 2012. Edited by Gemma Tougher, Assistant Archivist (Cataloguing), 19 April 2012.