Trefriw Port Books, which provide details of vessels, tonnages, masters, origins, destinations, cargoes by weight and fees. Two original manuscript volumes range in date from 1826 April 3-1835 December 26 and 1835-1847. The earliest contains an account of lead ore weighed on the estate of Gwydir, 1826 April 3-1835 November 21. Also, Wharfage Accounts of dues paid to Lord Willoughby de Eresby on cargoes and a photocopy of a Trefriw Port Book, 1817 July 11-1829 May 30.
Trefriw Port Books
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Trefriw is situated in the Conwy valley, north Wales. The village developed into a port as lead, slates and other cargoes were transported from Trefriw, down the river Conwy, to the sea.
Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
The depositor of Bangor Ms 10390 is Mrs Elsbeth W. Pears of Ellesmere.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, January 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 7057-7058, 10390, 26049
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.