Records of Ferryport-on-Craig Kirk Session.

Scope and Content

Minutes, 1640-1674, 1710-1976; Accounts, 1756-1962; Scroll minutes and accounts, 1763-1776; Baptismal register, 1855-1887; Proclamation registers, 1855-1949, 1961; Communion rolls, 1858-1876, 1880-1960; Vacancy committee and congregational meetings minutes, 1923-1928; Minutes of Congregational board, 1950-1962, and 1978-1984; Collection cash books, 1865-1949; Session clerk's papers, mainly financial, 1877-1961, 1965-1981; seat registers and seat letting books, 1926, 1930-1961; letter books, 1879-1907; Women's guild papers 1895-1953; Correspondence files, 1978-1980 and 1982-1985.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Ferryport-on-Craig was disjoined from that of Leuchars in 1602 and in 1606 was erected by Parliament. The parish church was rebuilt in 1825. In 1962 Ferryport-on-Craig, which became known in later years as Tayport Ferryport-on-Craig, was united with Tayport Erskine under the name of Tayport Erskine, Ferryport-on-Craig, and a further union followed in 1978 between Tayport Erskine, Ferryport-on-Craig and Tayport Queen Street, to form the session of Tayport. The kirk session sat within the Presbytery of St Andrew's, later of Dundee and, following the restructuring of the presbyteries in 1976, it once more became part of the Presbytery of St Andrew's.

Each congregation of the Church of Scotland has a Kirk Session, which comprises the minister(s) and the ruling elders, all members of the Session (including the minister) being elders. The elders' duty is care for the spiritual needs of the congregation; each of them has a district of the parish assigned to him/her. The Kirk Session determines the number of elders. The minister is moderator of the Session, and there is a clerk who has custody of all the Session's records. There may also be a treasurer, and an officer or beadle. The Session must have maintained a communion roll, containing the names and addresses of the communicant church members within the parish.

The Kirk Session's duties are to maintain good order amongst its congregation (including administering discipline and superintending the moral and religious condition of the parish), and to implement the Acts of the General Assembly. The Kirk Session is at the base of the pyramid of church courts, and it is subject to the review of the Presbytery in which it is situated, and to the superior courts of the Church. Each Kirk Session elects one of its number to represent it at the Presbytery (and formerly at the Synod).

Into the 19th century, there used to be weekly collections made for the support of the poor, but as the state began to assume responsibility for their support (by means of taxation) so funds collected from communicants might be directed to special schemes (eg support of missionaries), more recently through a weekly freewill offering scheme. Seat or pew rents were also quite common (money paid for a fixed seat in a church), but declined rapidly from the 1950s. Many congregations now have a congregational board, which monitors income and expenditure. Former Free Church congregations often had Deacons' Courts, which had responsibility for the whole property of the congregation, and had to apply spiritual principles in the conduct of their affairs.

Sources: Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 5 and 8-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).

Access Information

By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.

Acquisition Information

Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.


Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.

Other Finding Aids

Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.

Related Material

GB 227 CH3/294 Records of Tayport Free Church (Queen Street United Free Church).

Geographical Names