COPY LETTER BOOK: South Stack Lighthouse: Copy letters written by Henry Bowen Principal Lighthouse keeper to B. H. Bailey, P. H. Berthom and J. P. Elliot [of Trinity House Office, Milford]. The letters cover many aspects of managing the lighthouse. They mostly include maintenance of the bridge/painting the lighthouse, payment of bills and the construction of new dwelling houses. In addition mention supplies; wages; the book of observations on the Skerries light will be filled up in the course of another month; Mr Griffiths pension; Captain William Job of the small barque Planta bound to Demerrera [Demerara] stole the two books about the barometer by the Board of Trade; Mr H. Jones is contracted to paint the lighthouse; a proposed garden for the lighthouse keepers on Holyhead Mountain near the road about midway between Plas Nico and the Gyferydd; the magnetic meridian of the year 1809 when the lighthouse was built the position of the windows in the tower were set by compass; Peregrine Falcons nesting within a few hundred yards of the lighthouse; sending out extracts from their meteorological observations to Messrs Paris & Co.; Edward Lloyd and John Davies, Journeymen painters; land for sale in connection with the Wesleyan chapel at Llaingoch; Mr Hugh Williams pilot and Boats crew bringing oil and coal; farmers sons coming by boat to rob gulls eggs; Captain Skinner R. N.; Commander Priest R. N and Captain Shuttleworth re a battery for fog guns; the fog bell; Mr Jones, Waterside, Blacksmith; sending lamps to Jacob Herbert, London by rail to be fixed; water in the well of the bell due to heavy rain; wood from Mr Treweek; and an account of a schooner that ran aground. Also notes on: 1855 May 8th George Oliver weighed the clapper of the fog bell - 42 lbs.; Rev. J. Ketley, 27 Charles Street, Berkley Squ[are], London; Tho[ma]s Simpson, Ordnance Survey Office, Phoenix Park, Dublin; 1856 Dec. 22nd Put a new rope to the low light 45 fathoms of 3½ inch rope; 1856 Sep. 30 Had a medicine chest from the vestal yacht; stores for the South Stack lighthouse directed to Mr Hugh Williams, Holyhead; particulars of the barometer at South Stack being a Crichton London 1853 190 feet above mean sea level located in the watch room below the lantern; J. W. Hoffman Esq. [Daltes] Pallace, Norwich. The volume also includes accounts of oil consumption at South Stack.
VOLUME: [First use] to copy out the work of Ioanne Dauide Rhaes [Siôn Dafydd Rhys] of Llanfaethlu, (b. 1534) Linguæ Cymraecæ Institutiones accuratæ. [Secondary use].
Enclosed: SHEETS: List of Books received for use of the Light House Keepers and List of carpenter's work and a note.