TEMPLE FARM, SOUTHEND-ON-SEA, ESSEX, MALGRAVES FARM, SOUTHEND-ON-SEA, ESSEX

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Consists of balance sheet and profit and loss accounts 1902-1907

Administrative / Biographical History

The donor's family moved from Ayrshire to Broomhills Farm, Billericay, Essex in 1889. In 1898, Temple Farm was taken over: a large market garden was established and milk supplied to Southend. Later the family acquired additional agricultural interests. During the First World War, Steel and Howard founded Howard's Dairies. An interest was also purchased in Garons, a large Southend store

Farm size Temple Farm: 400 acres; loams; tenants to the Taber family; Malgraves Farm: about 200 acres; clays and loams

Conditions Governing Access

Available for consultation

Acquisition Information

Presented on permanent deposit 1966, accession number 78

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the Archivist

Geographical Names