(Later known as Ysgol Frongoch)
Frongoch Board/Council School, Denbigh opened in October 1877. Board Schools were established during the 1870s following the 1870 Elementary Education Act and were often known as "Council Schools".
In 1875 it was proposed that a new school be provided for 250 infants. The school was built in 1877 from plans by R Lloyd Williams of Williams and Underwood a local architectural firm. The school was built by Moses Parry of Conway for the sum of £1487. As it was built to newer recommendations it featured 2 separate classrooms in addition to the main school room to facilitate better teaching as previously all pupils were taught in one area with glass partitions to enable the Headteacher to keep an eye on the inexperienced pupil teachers.
The Board school was located on Red Lane which is now known as Grove Road and the first Headmistress was Miss Mary Jane Gratton of Liverpool. 74 children were transferred from the Love Lane schools to the new school. A girls' school for 200 girls was built on the same site and opened in April 1895 and the girls were transferred from Love Lane school. Love Lane Girls' school becomes Frongoch Girls school.
In 1936 the school received electricity.
In 1938 Love Lane Boys' school was closed and in October Frongoch became known as Frongoch Junior Mixed school with 169 pupils on the register.
In 1973 the Junior school took over the Infants' school buildings as the Infant department was transferred to a new school on a new site at Ysgol Y Parc.
In September 1985 the school relocated to new building on Rhyl Road - this building was originally known as Ysgol Y Dyffryn, a special needs school. The old school building on Grove Road was remodelled and housed the magistates court until 2014 when it was purchased by Denbigh Town Council.
Grove Road, Denbigh, LL16 3UU, later on Rhyl Road, Denbigh. LL16 3DP
Ordnance survey - 25 inch OS map Frongoch school is on sheet 13-4 2nd edition